What does God want me to do?

“What does God want me to do?”  It is a question I have spent a lot of time pondering in my life.  Which college to attend.  Whether or not I should transfer.  Which part-time gig I should take during college. Whether I should propose.  Going to seminary.  Which parish I should serve after seminary.  I’ve given a lot of time to the question, “What does God want me to do?”

And I’ve decided that, in the end, that is the wrong question.  Assuming one is living in the Spirit, I’m pretty sure God can utilize your gifts to his honor and glory whether you go to seminary or work construction; whether you attend a BCS school or a DIII university in nowhere’sville.  The details don’t matter.  And I’ll tell you why.

Because at least twice in Scripture it is made abundantly clear what God wants from us.

In Micah 6:8, “And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”

And in Sunday’s Epistle lesson, 1 Thessalonians 5:16ff, “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

Nowhere in there do I see a suggestion that God spends nearly the time bogged down in details that we do.  Instead, whether a carpenter, teller, driver, or priest, God’s concern is that we do our jobs and live our lives with thanksgiving seeking justice, mercy and humility.  What does God want you to do?  He wants you to be a disciple.  The rest, well, it’ll fall into place.

Leave a comment