A Tough Choice

Christmas is a season of making tough choices.  

A Great Santa Picture featuring Nancy Reagan and Mr. T.

Sometimes, the decision isn’t hard at all.  In the coming days, FBC will have her chance to sit on Santa’s lap to tell him what she wants for Christmas.  For her, the decision as to what should be at the top of her list came months ago.  She wants, and has wanted for nearly a year now, and Easy Bake Ultimate Oven.  Others…

Red Rider BB Gun or Football?

Have a tougher time.

The astute preacher will notice two shiny texts calling out for their exegetical handiwork this Advent 3.  Of course, there is always room to preach the lessons from the Old Testament or the Epistle, but really, this Gaudete Sunday most preachers will find themselves trying to decide between a second week with John the Baptist and the reason for our joy, Mary’s Magnificat.

I’ve downloaded resources for both texts this week, as I have yet to make the decision.  I know that since I preached on JBap last Sunday, I’m tempted to reach to Mary, but I also know how hard it is to preach the Magnificat.

If you are preaching this week, what have you settled on? If not, what would you like to hear more about?

One thought on “A Tough Choice

  1. If I had a choice, I would go with the Magnificat for two reasons. First of all, you did an OUTSTANDING job with JBap yesterday (Advent 2), and secondly, in many ways the Christmas story is as much about Mary as it is about Jesus, and I think she deserves more time/study/adoration. Bringing her to our attention in Advent 3 will give us a whole week (+) to include her in our prayers, meditation, and study. Besides, that, we all know how much you love a challenge. Peace my friend. Wayne

Leave a comment