Christmas 2014 – Do not be afraid

I don’t think I’m the only one who thinks that 2014 has felt like a very dark year.  With ISIS in the Middle East, fraying race relations in the US, economic worries in Europe, and Russia flexing its muscles while starving its people and *allegedly* shooting down international passenger jets by mistake, this year’s news cycle has been full of some pretty heavy stuff.  One can’t help but feel like things just aren’t the way they are supposed to be, and as a parent of two small children, I find I have to work to keep from falling into a cycle of anxiety about what sort of world they’ll grow up in.

As the final hours of Advent wind down, I find myself longing, deeply longing, for the annual rehearsal of the Christmas story from Luke’s Gospel.  I need to hear of Mary and Joseph travelling from Nazareth to Bethlehem.  I seek the comfort of those familiar words, “She gave birth to her firstborn son and wrapped him in bands of cloth, and laid him in a manger, because there was no place for them in the inn.”  I’m especially waiting to hear the proclamation of the angel choir to the shepherds tending their flocks by night.  Specifically, I’m hoping that their words “Do not be afraid” will find their way into the recess of my heart.

I don’t think I’m alone in this.

There is something comforting about the admonition of the angels to not fear.  They aren’t speaking to me directly, and yet, I think those words were uttered once and for all time.  Fear Not, for God’s plan for salvation is bigger than the Emperor Augustus, bigger than the Pax Romana, bigger than AIDS or cancer, bigger than ISIS or Bashir, bigger than any of the fears of this world.  Fear Not, for God’s plan is good news of mega joy for all people.  Fear not, for God is in control.

In a world full of violence, anger, pettiness and greed, it feels good to remember that God’s plan for salvation is at work and we need no fear.

One thought on “Christmas 2014 – Do not be afraid

  1. you are not alone……….I wonder if it’s the beginning of the end time but
    like you try to keep those words” fear not” in my thoughts OFTEN. I need them.

Leave a Reply

