Romans’ Road

“For the Wages of Sin is Death.”

After the youth group in my Episcopal Church blew up when I was in 8th grade and our youth group leader took the $2k we had raised selling calendars or some such none sense, I figured it was time to try something different.  I spent most of my high school years bouncing between my friend T.J.’s youth group at the Christian Missionary Alliance (CMA) Church and everybody’s favorite para-church punching bag, Young Life.  By the time I headed off to college, I had the time and date that I “accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior” written on the inside front cover of my Bible, despite the fact that I had been raised in the Church since I was three.  I settled into a nice pseudo-para-church-but-mostly-Presbyterian college ministry and did my best to avoid the awkwardness at Campus Crusade.

All of that to say this, I’ve walked the Romans’ Road a time or too, and so when this Sunday’s Epistle includes that famous line, “For the wages of sin is death,” I can’t help but go back to my days in conservative evangelical Christianity, not to condemn it, but to be thankful that at least they were willing to talk about what difference Jesus makes in your life.  We could squabble about how the impact of Jesus is more about today than it is about the day we die, and that is a good and noble conversation, but first, we need to get to the point where we recognize that Jesus makes a difference, and Romans’ Road does that.

So tell me, what difference does Jesus make in your life?

Leave a Reply

