Walking the Talk – Why I blog

I wasn’t going to write a post today.  I haven’t even sat down at my computer until now, and it is already 4:14pm.  I just wasn’t going to do it today, until I read today’s post by my blogging compadre, The Rev. Evan Garner.  Evan was part of a three person panel talking about blogging for ministry at the Bishop’s Clergy Conference in the Diocese of Alabama.  He reminded me that while this blog has been and will always be a blog for me; a place where I work out the Biblical text for myself, I have 150+/- page views everyday from people who come to Draughting Theology for a variety of reasons: preachers working on sermons, my parishioners looking for what I’ve got to say today, random Google searchers who want to know what salvation looks like, lost souls in search of comfort, and the occasional random search bot who has come in search of Search Engine Optimizing Key Words.  So, feeling like I should say something, I opened up LectionaryPage.net and stumbled upon the Collect for Easter 2.

Almighty and everlasting God, who in the Paschal mystery established the new covenant of reconciliation: Grant that all who have been reborn into the fellowship of Christ’s Body may show forth in their lives what they profess by their faith; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

The Collect for Easter 2, 1979 BCP

And I was reminded about why I started blogging in the first place.  Way back in 2005, my seminary classmate, Scott Peterson, invited me to take part in a group blog during Lent in 2005.  Our goal was to write daily, reflecting on the Lord’s Prayer, the Apostle’s Creed, and the 10 Commandments.  Following that, I invited other VTS class of 2007 members who were starting the dreaded summer of Clinical Pastoral Education to blog their experience.  Many of us had had ministry experience before seminary: teaching Sunday school, leading youth ministries, Stephen Ministers, you name it, but for the first time that summer, the rubber of our new vocation was meeting the road; we were going to have to show forth in our lives what we professed by our faith – that we were called to be ministers of the Gospel.

In the 9 years and close to 1,700 posts I’ve written since, I’ve turned my attention to blogging the Sunday Lectionary.  I engage scripture as something that is living and breathing – something that has something to teach me today.  I believe that with all my heart, and so my goal is to show it through my writing.  Some days, I accomplish that task, and some days I don’t, but it is always the goal.

With that goal in mind, I guess my question to you, dear reader, is this, “what does your life show that you believe?”  If those two things aren’t matching, how can you change your life to better fit what you believe about God’s dream for his creation?  Or, as my well worn title suggests, how can you walk the talk?

2 thoughts on “Walking the Talk – Why I blog

Leave a Reply

