My Prayer This Thanksgiving

This will be a short week on Draughting Theology, but I would be remiss to wish my readers a Happy Thanksgiving and to offer my best wishes to preachers as they dust off their old commentaries on Matthew on a short preaching week prior to Advent 1.  I’m guessing many congregations will hear sermons on the season of Advent instead of in-depth preaching on that awkward moment when Jesus seems to give credence to rapture theology.

While I’d love to spend the week dealing with Jesus’ apocalyptic vision in Matthew, it just isn’t going to happen, and so, in what will surely be my only post this week, I will instead offer you my prayer this Thanksgiving.  It is a prayer that is as much for me as it is for you.  It is a prayer that has a long and rich history.  It is a prayer that should be recited every morning.  It is a prayer that is too often forgotten.

Almighty God, the giver of all good gifts, help us to rejoice in the Lord always, that our gentleness might be known to everyone.  Keep us comforted in the knowledge that you are near, that we need not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving we can let your requests be made known to you.  May the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, guard our hearts and our minds in Christ Jesus.  Finally, beloved, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, help us to think about these things.  Amen. (Adapted from Philippians 4.4-9)

One thought on “My Prayer This Thanksgiving

  1. Thank you so very much. This brought tears to my eyes.

    May God bless you and your family. I hope each of you have a very Happy Thanksgiving.

    Take care, Jennifer

    On Mon, Nov 25, 2013 at 3:14 PM, Draughting Theology wrote:

    > Steve Pankey posted: “This will be a short week on Draughting > Theology, but I would be remiss to wish my readers a Happy Thanksgiving and > to offer my best wishes to preachers as they dust off their old > commentaries on Matthew on a short preaching week prior to Advent 1. I’m > g”

Leave a Reply

