The Highs and Lows of Faith

Faith can make one do interesting things.  I used to say that I didn’t want to get too involved with the Holy Spirit because African Missionary wasn’t high on my list of life goals.  I’m certain that living in Foley, Alabama wasn’t on that list of life goals either, but I feel like I won the Holy Spirit Powerball every day.  Faith changed my heart, opened my eyes, and sometimes, even pushed me where I needed to go.  I’m so grateful for the power of faith in my life, but I also know that someday, being faithful will mean doing something else I could have never imagined for myself and my family.  Such are the highs and lows of faith.

The lesson from Hebrews for Sunday is a continuation of the faith lesson from last week, but I like this section a whole lot more as it reminds me of the highs and lows of a life of faith:

  • By faith the people passed through the Red Sea
  • By faith the walls of Jericho fell
  • By faith Rahab the prostitute did not perish with those who were disobedient
  • faith conquered kingdoms
    • administered justice
    • obtained promises
    • shut the mouths of lions
    • quenched raging fire
    • escaped the edge of the sword
    • won strength out of weakness
    • became mighty in war
    • put foreign armies to flight.

The list goes on and on.  Where has your faith taken you?  Where is God calling you to go today?

Leave a Reply

