The word of God is living and active…

Hebrews 4:12 is fun with capitalization.  It reads, as the title of the blogpost indicates, “The word of God is living and active…”  I say “fun with capitalization” because nobody uses a lowercase “w” for “word” in the phrase “word of God” anymore.  In both of my ordination, I solemnly declared that I believe “the Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments to be the Word of God, and to contain all things necessary to salvation…”  Most Christians, regardless of their position on the infallibility of Scripture, when pressed, would use the same curious case to write “Word of God” that the Book of Common Prayer does.  To me, however, using the capital “W” puts the Bible on par with the other “Word of God” who is the second person of the Trinity, a guy we commonly call, Jesus.

Which leads me to this oft heard statement:

And this question, “what did God say?”  The words in red in the Gospels, those words spoken by the Word, I’m pretty sure God said.  The words spoken by the prophets, the mouthpieces of God, I’m pretty sure God said.  The words of creation in Genesis 1 and 2, I’m pretty sure God said.  But what about the rest of, to use my preferred case from Hebrews, “the living and active word of God,” I’m a little fuzzy.  See if it is living and active, then it can’t be pinned down, and if it can’t be pinned down, then how am I to use it to “settle” anything?  Instead, if it is living and active, sharper than any two edged sword, then shouldn’t the “word of God” be at work in my heart?  Should it be changing me to be a better person?  Should it be settle in me, not being used by me to settle on anything?

One thought on “The word of God is living and active…

  1. WOW! Take that, Fundamentalists! 😉
    May I use that to try to get my Church of Christ preacher – in – training son in law to THINK?
    Bet it wouldn’t have any effect.

Leave a Reply

