Take nothing? #GC77 travel day

In less than 2 hours, I’ll be en route to Mobile Regional Airport where my journey to The 77th General Convention of The Episcopal Church will begin in earnest.  It has been a whirlwind 63 hours since I arrived home from my three week’s at Sewanee.   I preached, did laundry, visited my parents, picked up a few odds and ends at the outlet mall, and repacked.  The family arrived home yesterday, about noon, and we crammed in as much together time as possible.  I’m bummed to be leaving so soon, but am honored to serve the Church.

I was struck this morning that of al the lessons we might have for this Sunday, we get Jesus sending the disciples out, two by two, without anything. No extra clothes, no bag, none of the crap that is now waiting in the cargo hold at Mobile Regional Airport. Two bags! Suits, collars, shoes, cufflinks, camcorders, laptops, cell phones, and on and on and on.

As I sit in the airport, waiting for convention to begin in earnest, I’m wondering what I really need.

Leave a Reply

