My first real post for our Diocesan General Convention blog. Check it out.

Dio of the Central Gulf Coast @ General Convention

By: The Rev. Steve Pankey

General Convention is rapidly approaching, and I’m doing all I can to make sure I arrive in Indianapolis having fully reviewed “The Blue Book.”  Tonight, I’ve taken out a huge chunk of text, and one report stands out among all others as I consider life in The Diocese of the Central Gulf Coast.

The Standing Commission for Small Congregations report begins on page 511 of The Blue Bookand I commend it to your reading .  Their mandate is “It shall be the duty of the commission to identify and recommend to General Convention policies, priorities, and opportunities to affirm and strengthen the health and development of small congregations.”

It is late, so you’ll have to forgive me for quoting large sections of text, but three items are of note:

  • A reality of The Episcopal Church is that more than half its  congregations are considered small congregations…

View original post 306 more words

Leave a Reply

