you’re kidding… right?

I’m sure that you are sick of hearing me complain about the Revised Common Lectionary.  Heck, I’m sick of hearing me complain about it, but this week, I’m not I have another option.  Here at St. Paul’s we have selected Track Two for the Season of Pentecost.  It will prove fruitful, eventually, but our first go-round, The Second Sunday After Pentecost, Proper 5, Year B is a series of ridiculously bad readings.

  • I could preach a sermon entitled, “She made me do it: why men shouldn’t listen to women” in response to the Genesis reading.
  • I could preach a sermon entitled, “More than watchman for the morning: why the end of our shift on earth can’t come soon enough” for the Psalm.
  • The 2nd Corinthians lesson lends itself to a sermon entitled, “I know arthritis hurts, but just wait for that great by-and-by”
  • Or, I could preach a sermon entitled, “Why you’re going to hell and other Jesus niceties” with a nod to the Mark lesson.

I’m serious people, these are the lessons!  Perhaps as the week goes by and I do some reading and praying, things will become more clear, but as of today, I’m looking to the Collect, the lone bright spot in an otherwise cloudy skyline.

O God, from whom all good proceeds: Grant that by your inspiration we may think those things that are right, and by your merciful guiding may do them; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

It’s got it all: love, grace, mercy, sanctification, and good works.  It is the life of a disciples summed up in one beautifully constructed sentence.  We recognize God as the creator of all things.  We seek the mind of Christ – the will of God.  We follow through on that will and do those things that are right (and good and proper).  All the while, we give thanks to the holy and undivided Trinity.

It’s not a very long sermon, but it’s a start.  Happy exegeting friends!

4 responses

  1. Pingback: shifting the blame « Draughting Theology

  2. Pingback: waiting for the Lord « Draughting Theology

Leave a Reply

