When, not if

I missed you, dear reader, while I was at clergy conference yesterday.  It was a pleasure to have as our guest, Dr. Diana Butler Bass, and her presentation was spectacular.  I can’t wait to read her new book, Christianity after Religion when I can get my head above water.  I’m not preaching this week, so I’m not as far behind as I could be this week, but I can still feel the tide rising.  I ask your prayers for the busyness of the coming weeks and months.

As I ponder Diana’s presentation alongside the three books I have to pre-read for my Dmin, the book I’m reading for Draughting Theology on Ice, the regular work that I do in my parish all while trying to balance family (with SBC due in 3 weeks), I’m particularly excited that this Sunday is Good Shepherd Sunday.  I kind of need this Jesus

for the next 4 months.  I think my need to be carried is why I’m so drawn to the Collect for Sunday, especially the middle phrase, “Grant that when we hear his voice we may know him who calls us each by name, and follow where he leads…”  Did you catch that?  When we hear his voice.  Not if, but when.  You will hear the voice of Jesus.  I will hear the voice of Jesus.  We will hear the voice of Jesus.  What an amazing promise!

Sometimes that voice will be the still, small voice of 1 Kings.  Sometimes it will be the burning bush of Exodus.  Sometimes it will be the choir of angels of Luke, and sometimes it will be like Joseph’s dream.  No matter how we hear the voice of God, we will hear it.  I find that comforting as I settle back into the routine today.

Now, to figure out how to know and follow.  Maybe tomorrow.

2 responses

  1. I figure that when we hear His voice – and we KNOW that we hear His voice, then we don’t have to “figure out how” to follow. We just do, even though it probably draws us out of our comfort zone. We may find ourselves overwhelmed with new challenges (such as beginning a Dmin and celebrating SBC at the same time), and yet somehow we just do. And we don’t have to wait until tomorrow, since tomorrow never comes. There’s just right now.

Leave a Reply

